var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-16049511-2']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + ''; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

Virginia Farmer Wins Overall National Grains Yield Title

The Results are in from NCGA's 48th Annual Corn Yield Contest, and Virginia has fared very well against the competition. Amongst a pool of over 8,262 nationwide entries and six grower categories, Virginians claimed two National 1st place yields. Advanced production techniques, informed growing practices and improved seed varieties helped Virginia's winning corn producers achieve high yields that far exceed the projected national average of 122.3 bushels per acre in 2012.

Craig Hula yielded 308.9 bushes to win the No-till/strip-till non-irrigated national contest. He also was nationally tops with 384.3 bushels in the no-till/strip-till irrigated category.

Also notable was Dan Gause Farms of SC, who took third place nationally in the non-irrigated category.

"While this contest provides individual growers a chance for good-natured competition with their peers, it also advances farming as a whole," said Dean Taylor, chairman of NCGA's Production and Stewardship Action Team. "The techniques and practices contest winners develop provide the basis for widely used advances that benefit the industry. This contest highlights how innovation, from both growers and technology providers, allows us to meet the growing demand for food, feed, fuel and fiber in a sustainable manner."

Virginia Corn Yield Contest Winners:

Non-Irrigated Class

1. Rosenberger Farms, Jeffersonton, Pioneer P2088YHR, 264.1012 bu/acre
2. Justice Family Farms, Beaver, Pioneer 31G71, 246.8938 bu/acre
3. Rosenberger Farms, Jeffersonton, Pioneer P1184AM-R, 220.6094

No-Till/Strip Till Irrigated

1. David Hula, Charles City, Pioneer P2088YHR, 384.3069 bu/acre National 1st Place
2. Johnny Hula, Charles City, DEKALB DKC67-57, 298.8717 bu/acre
3. Edwin Mills, Hanover, Pioneer P1745HR, 265.5295 bu/acre

No-Till/Strip Till Non-Irrigated

1. Craig Hula, Charles City, DEKALB DKC66-96, 308.9133 bu/acre National 1st Place
2. Beauregard Farms, Brandy Station, Pioneer P1184AM-R, 237.5360 bu/acre
3. James Bowen, Brandy Station, Pioneer P2088AM1, 234.6936 bu/acre


1. Robert Newcomb, Hanover, Pioneer P2088HR, 282.5836 bu/acre
2. John Mills Jr., Hanover, Pioneer P2088HR, 275.1021 bu/acre
3. John Mills, III., Hanover, Pioneer P1184AM-R, 267.8602 bu/acre

The Virginia contest winners, along with the winners of the wheat & barley yield contests, will be awarded plaques and honored at the 2013 Virginia Grains & Soybean Annual Conference in Williamsburg, VA on February 19-20, 2013. Our congratulations to all our winning farmers for their impressive achievements!

Please visit the National Corn Growers Association website  for the complete list of National & State winners. is dedicated to serving the agricultural industry in the Carolinas and Virginia with the latest ag news, exclusive regional weather station readings, and key crop market information. The website is a companion of the Southern Farm Network, provider of daily agricultural radio programming to the Carolinas since 1974. presents radio programs, interviews and news relevant to crop and livestock production and research throughout the mid-Atlantic agricultural community.