More Honors Passed Out by Farm Bureau

The American Farm Bureau Federation presented its highest honor, the Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award, to former Missouri Farm Bureau President Charles Kruse. A fourth-generation farmer, Kruse has dedicated more than 40 years to agriculture, including service on numerous local, state and national committees. Kruse retired at the end of 2010 after serving 18 years as president of the Missouri Farm Bureau.

Also, Winners of the Young Farmers & Ranchers Achievement Award, Discussion Meet and Excellence in Agriculture competitions were announced at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s 93rd Annual Meeting. Ben and Jennifer Moore of Tennessee won the Achievement Award. Runners-up are Chad and Julie Carlton of Georgia, Travis and Renae Gebhart of South Dakota and Kirk and Stephanie Liefer of Illinois.

Heather Barnes of North Carolina won the Discussion Meet. The three runners-up are Jacob Andersen of Idaho, Katie Pratt of Illinois and Chelsea Good of Kansas. Andy and Ellie Holt of Tennessee won the Excellence in Agriculture Award. The three runners-up are Jason and Paige Pratt of Virginia, Jillian Beaty of Wisconsin and Sharla Mortimer of Arizona. is dedicated to serving the agricultural industry in the Carolinas and Virginia with the latest ag news, exclusive regional weather station readings, and key crop market information. The website is a companion of the Southern Farm Network, provider of daily agricultural radio programming to the Carolinas since 1974. presents radio programs, interviews and news relevant to crop and livestock production and research throughout the mid-Atlantic agricultural community.