Joint Commodities Conference Annual Awards Presented

The 24th Annual Joint Commodities Conference held the Annual Awards Banquet. Hosted by Rhonda Garrison of SFN, the night provided attendees a chance to enjoy a fun meal with networking and fellowship.

Several awards were presented during the evening:

The NC Corn Growers Association recognized two Extension Directors with Distinguished Service Awards. Frank Winslow of Tyrell County and Mac Gibbs of Hyde County.

The NC Small Grains Growers Association recognized 2012 President Burt Eure with a special award.

The NC Soybean Growers Association presented the American Soybean Association Dupont Young Leader Award to Michael and Renee McPherson.

Julian Philpott of Sanford, NC, Secretary and General Counsel at the NC Farm Bureau Federation, received the Meritorious Service Award.

The NC Corn Growers presented the Distinguished Service Award to National Corn Growers Association Board Member Guy Davenport, of Washington County, NC.

And outgoing President Jimmy Thomas of the NC Soybean Growers Association was recognized with a meritorious service award. is dedicated to serving the agricultural industry in the Carolinas and Virginia with the latest ag news, exclusive regional weather station readings, and key crop market information. The website is a companion of the Southern Farm Network, provider of daily agricultural radio programming to the Carolinas since 1974. presents radio programs, interviews and news relevant to crop and livestock production and research throughout the mid-Atlantic agricultural community.