Farm Bill Now Rally Speakers Announced

Hundreds of farmers, legislative representatives and agricultural leaders will come together Wednesday to send a strong message to Congress to pass the farm bill before current farm programs expire. The Farm Bill Now rally will take place at Union Square in front of the Capitol Reflecting Pond. Members of the U.S. House and Senate will address the crowd – as will leaders from a broad range of farm, conservation, energy, consumer and nutrition organizations. Senate Ag Committee Chair Debbie Stabenow, Kansas Senator Jerry Moran, House Ag Committee Ranking Member Collin Peterson and South Dakota Representative Kristi Noem are slated to speak at the rally.

American Farm Bureau Federation President Bob Stallman and National Farmers Union President Roger Johnson will serve as masters of ceremonies. Organizational speakers include Daren Coppock, Agricultural Retailers Association President and CEO; Stallman; American Farmland Trust President Jon Scholl; American Soybean Association President Steve Wellman; National Association of Conservation Districts President Gene Schmidt; National Corn Growers Association President Garry Niemeyer; and Johnson – among others.

More than 80 organizations representing a broad range of associations and coalitions representing commodity crops, livestock, dairy, specialty crops, state and local governments, minor crops, energy and biobased product groups, farm cooperatives and financial groups have endorsed the Farm Bill Now rally. For more information – visit www dot FarmBillNow dot com ( is dedicated to serving the agricultural industry in the Carolinas and Virginia with the latest ag news, exclusive regional weather station readings, and key crop market information. The website is a companion of the Southern Farm Network, provider of daily agricultural radio programming to the Carolinas since 1974. presents radio programs, interviews and news relevant to crop and livestock production and research throughout the mid-Atlantic agricultural community.