var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-16049511-2']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + ''; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

2011 Yield Winners Announced at Joint Commodity Conference

Recently at the 23rd Annual Joint Commodity Conference, yield contest winners in several categories were announced for corn, soybeans and small grains, as well as checkoff supported research projects for 2012 for cotton, corn, soybean and small grains.


Research dollars in the amount of $196,632 were awarded in four categories for cotton:

North Carolina Cotton Producers Association also named their 2012 Executive Committee, Board of Directors and Board Advisors.
(To see a complete list click here)


2011 corn Yield contest Regional Winners and Runners Up were announced by the Corn Growers Association of North Carolina at the Joint Commodity Conference in six regions of North Carolina, in dryland, irrigated and no-till categories.

  • Maple Knoll Farms in Currituck County had the highest yield in 2011 with 273.08 bushels to the acre
  • Wood Farm in Cherokee County was the second highest with 272.48 bushels to the acre.
    (To see a complete list of winners click here)

Also at the Joint Commodity Conference the Corn Growers Association presented a distinguished service award to Darren Armstrong, and to NC State Extension Corn Specialist Dr. Ron Heiniger.

The Research and Extension Proposals were also announced for fiscal year 2012 in the amount of $100,069 in four categories:


  • The Matthews Family Farm of Yadkin County won the annual North Carolina Soybean Yield Contest with an entry of 86.1 bushels to the acre, presented at the Joint Commodity Conference
  • Medlin Farms of Union County won the Most Efficient Yield Contest with a yield of 85.3 bushels to the acre at a cost of $4.09 per bushel
    (To see a complete list of soybean yield and efficiency winners click here)

Small Grains

North Carolina Small Grain Growers Association presented their 2011 Wheat Yield Contest winners in three regions at the Joint Commodity Conference.

  • Brian Moore of Rowan County won first place statewide as well as in Area 1, the Coastal Plain, with 139.2 bushels to the acre
  • Randy Edwards of Johnston County was awarded second place statewide and first place for Area 2, the Piedmont, with a total of 131.9 bushels to the acre
  • Moore Farm of Rowan County won third place state wide with a total of 129.8 bushels to the acre
  • Laurence Chappell of Perquimans County won first place in the Area 3, the Tidewater, with 126.4 bushels to the acre
    (to see a complete list of winners click here)

Also, at the Joint Commodity Conference, NCSGGA announced their research funding for the 2011-12 growing season in the amount of $448,527, including $38,116 awarded in the area of grain sorghum research.
(To see a complete list of funded research projects, click here) is dedicated to serving the agricultural industry in the Carolinas and Virginia with the latest ag news, exclusive regional weather station readings, and key crop market information. The website is a companion of the Southern Farm Network, provider of daily agricultural radio programming to the Carolinas since 1974. presents radio programs, interviews and news relevant to crop and livestock production and research throughout the mid-Atlantic agricultural community.