NCFB Launches Hurricane Relief Fund

The North Carolina Farm Bureau has established the “Hurricane Relief Fund” to support our state’s farmers and rural neighbors as recovery efforts in your communities become more apparent. Major donors include Duke Energy and Bayer Crop Science. These funds are supporting multiple initiatives. To learn more or make a donation visit<>

Pasture Renovation & Cover Crop Seed Initiative: As we approach the winter months, many pastures and fields are damaged and are at an increased risk to soil erosion with every precipitation event. To replenish lost forage and to keep productive soils in the fields, the Hurricane Relief Fund is offering Cereal Rye and Triticale as a winter cover crop seed for pasture renovation and crop fields to eligible producers at no cost as supplies last.

Producers with pastures and fields impacted by the hurricanes in the counties identified below are eligible to request seed to implement up to 10 acres of pasture renovation or 20 acres of a cover crop, equivalent to 1,000 pounds of seed. Total available seed per producer is based on acres impacted, as indicated by the survey applicant, considering a 100 pound per acre application rate for pasture renovation and a 50 pound per acre application rate for crop fields, not to exceed the cap. Seed will be available for pick up at the closest Research Station at a designated time. Producers will be notified by email regarding the day they can pick up the seed. All other transportation, planting costs and labor is to be borne by the producer and is not eligible for reimbursement. NOTE: CAP IS 1,000 POUNDS OF SEED PER PRODUCER

Eligible Counties: Alamance, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Iredell, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pender, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Surry, Tyrrell, Union, Vance, Wake, Washington, Watauga, Wayne, Wilkes, Wilson, Yancey

Research Station Town Locations serving as Seed Pick-Up Sites: Castle Hayne, Clayton, Clinton, Goldsboro, Jackson Springs, Kinston, Laurel Springs, Lewiston-Woodville, Mills River, Oxford, Plymouth, Reidsville, Rocky Mount, Salisbury, Waynesville, Whiteville

Paper Application Instructions: Producers are encouraged to submit an online application at []<>. For those not able to do so, a paper application can be submitted. The submittal deadline is November 30, 2018. The application can be returned to county Cooperative Extension offices, scanned and emailed to<> or mailed to the NC Foundation for Soil & Water Conservation, 5171 Glenwood Avenue, Suite 330, Raleigh NC 27612.

Application Batching: Applications will be batched each Friday and producers will be notified the following week by email on their application’s status and pick-up location. Priority will be given to those counties hardest hit by the hurricanes. Applications will continue to be accepted until November 30, 2018. Any questions are to be directed to Michelle Lovejoy, 919-510-4599 or<>.